Simons Collaboration on Extreme  Wave Phenomena Based on Symmetries

News & Events

Updates & Announcements


May 29, 2024, Enriico Maria Renzi, ASRC PhD student. Has been awarded a 2024 Optics and Photonics Scholarship by SPIE, the International Society for Optics and Photonics, for potential contributions to optics, photonics, or a related field.

May 8, 2024, Tsampikos Kottos –  New paper on Optical Kinetics published in Physical Review Letters  featured as  Editor’s Suggestion

March 20, 2024, Vicenzo Vitelli – New paper on Turbulent Cascades published in Nature

March 9, 2024 – Andrea Alù Max Born Award by Optica for pioneering contributions to linear, nonlinear, and nonreciprocal photonic.

January 17, 2024 – New paper on Coherent Control of a Chaotic Stadium Microcavity with Reflectionless Scattering Modes, featured on the cover of Nature Physics here

Press Release here

January 10, 2024 – New review paper on Extreme Light Confinement and Control in Low-symmetry Phonon-Polaritonic Crystals in Nature Reviews Materials, featured on the cover here

January 10, 2024 – Andrea Alù  2024 SPIE Mozi Award for seminal contributions to the field of optical metamaterials as well as their applications for wavefront manipulation and enhancement of nonreciprocal and nonlinear phenomena

January 5, 2024 – Said Rahimzadeh-Kalaleh Rodriguez and Sander A. Mann – News and Views: Nature Photonics:  (Metamaterials) Heat-assisted Nonreciprocity



Katia Bertoldi – 2023 Abacus Award for Faculty Collaboration with Staff. Harvard University

August 14, 2023 – New Nature Physics paper on Broadband coherent wave control through photonic collisions at time interfaces Press release: here

July 2023  – Andrea Alù  IEEE AP-S Distinguished Achievement Award Recipient for his pioneering contributions to metamaterial technologies and extreme electromagnetic wave phenomena 

June 12, 2023 – Andrea Alù, Dimitrios Sounas and Romain Fleury receive the 2021 Brillouin Medal at Phononics 2023 in Manchester, UK, for their work on non-reciprocal and topological phononics. The award was assigned in 2023, due to the COVID pandemic.  

March 2023 – Demetrios Christodoulides2023 Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science Recipient

April 27, 2023 – Engheta Nadar: Benjamin Franklin Medal in Electrical Engineering, from the Franklin Institute

April 23, 2023Nader Engheta:  Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

May 22, 2023 – Nader Engheta:  2023 Caltech Distinguished Alumni Award 



Andrea AlùDistinguished Professor – City University of New York – The title of Distinguished Professor is conferred on an individual by the University Board of Trustees in recognition of exceptional scholarly achievement. CUNY Distinguished Professors comprise a small number of exceptional individuals. That number is currently limited to 250. Distinguished Professorships are reserved for faculty with records of exceptional performance by national and international standards of excellence in their profession. This honor is granted in recognition of the quality and impact of the nominee’s scholarship.

Andrea Alù, E. Galiffi, R. Tirole, S. Yin, H. Li, S. Vezzoli, P. A. Huidobro, M. G. Silveirinha, R. Sapienza, J. B. Pendry:  2022 Editor-in-Chief Choice Award for Advanced Photonics (Advanced Photonics, SPIE) For the paper “Photonics of time-varying media”, Advanced Photonics, Vol. 4, No. 1, 014002 (32 pages)

Andrea Alù: 2022 Annual Award of eLight (ELight, Springer Nature) 

Andrea Alù: 2022 Highly Cited Researcher (Clarivate Analytics Web of Science) 

Alexander B. Khanikaev: 2022 Highly Cited Researcher (Clarivate Analytics Web of Science)

May 2022 – Mário Silveirinha: Elected as a corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences of Lisbon

April 13, 2022 – Nader Engheta:  2022 Hermann Anton Haus Lecture, Research Laboratory of Electronics (RLE), MIT



August 3, 2021 – The first annual review meeting for the project has been scheduled for October 21-22, 2021. See event details

August 1, 2021 – The project is featured in the 2020 Simons Collaboration Annual Report: Leveraging Symmetries to Invent Exotic Materials



November 12, 2020 – On the same wavelength: Scientists collaborate to explore symmetry, waves (Yale Daily News)

June 18, 2020 – Award Announced by the Simons Foundation


Kickoff Meeting: October 20, 2020

Satellite Workshop: October 19, 2022

Waves in Time-Varying Media Workshop: May 3-5, 2023

4 Part Lecture Series: A multidisciplinary journey in science and technology, from airplane boarding to designing lenses in hyperbolic metamaterials via space-time geometry 

Lecture Series Lead: Prof. Eitan Bachmat 

  • Wednesday, September 6, 2023, 2:00pm – 5:00pm 
  • Friday, September 8, 2023, 1:00pm – 4:00pm  
  • Monday, September 18, 2023, 10:00am-1:00pm 
  • Wednesday, September 20, 2023, 2:00pm -5:00pm 

Location (in-person): ASRC Auditorium, 85 St Nicholas Terrace, New York, NY 10031

Satellite Workshop: October 18, 2023

Electromagnetics Theory Conference June 2025

Annual Review Meetings will be held on the following dates (additional details TBD)