Preliminary Program

  Day 1 – May 3rd Day 2 – May 4th Day 3 – May 5th
8:00-8:45 Registration
8:45-9:00 Welcome remarks from the Organizing Committee Welcome remarks from the Dean of the Graduate Center of CUNY
9:00-10:00 Keynote 1:

Emmanuel Fort

ESPCI Paris, France

Water waves: a unique playground for time-varying media

Keynote 3:

Alexandra Boltasseva

Purdue University, USA

Dynamic Nanophotonics with Conducting Oxides and Metal Nitrides: From All-Optical Switching to New Phenomena

Keynote 4:

Andrea Cavalleri

Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter, Hamburg, Germany

Nonlinear Polaritonics in Quantum Materials 

10:00-10:30 Invited 1:

Dmitri Basov

Columbia University, USA

Propagating polaritons in time-varying and bicrystal media

Invited 9:

Mordechai Segev

Technion, Israel

Photonic Time-Crystals


Invited 13:

Jamison Sloan

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Novel optical phenomena in time-varying media

10:30-11:00 Coffee break Coffee break Coffee break
11:00-11:30 Invited 2:

Vladimir Shalaev

Purdue University, USA

Near-Zero-Index Materials for Time-Varying Media

Poster session Invited 14:

Mario Silveirinha

Instituto Tecnico, University of Lisbon, Portugal

Engineering an Angular Momentum Bias with Linear Synthetic Motion

11:30-12:00 Invited 3:

Govind Agrawal

University of Rochester, USA

Temporal Waveguiding in a Dispersive Nonlinear Medium 

Invited 15:

Ornella Mattei

San Francisco State University, USA

On the effects of suitably designed space microstructures in the propagation of waves in time modulated composites

12:00-12:30 Invited 4:

Nader Engheta

University of Pennsylvania, USA

Salient Features of Temporal, Spatial, and Spatiotemporal Interfaces

Invited 16:

Simon Horsley (tbc)

University of Exeter

The operator theory of dispersive time varying media

12:30-14:00 Lunch break Lunch break Lunch break
14:00-14:15 ECR Finalist 1: 

Prachi Thureja

Caltech, USA

Space-Time Modulated Metasurfaces for Steering of Frequency-Shifted Beams at Telecom Wavelengths

ECR Finalist 3:

Shixiong Yin

Advanced Science Research Center, City University of New York, USA

Observation of Wave Scattering at Time-Interfaces

ECR Finalist 5:

Ohad Segal

Technion, Israel

Time-Refraction Optics at Single Cycle Modulation

14:15-14:30 ECR Finalist 2:

David Globosits

Technische Universität, Vienna

Optimal Spatio-Temporal Light Fields with the Floquet Wigner-Smith Matrix

ECR Finalist 4:

Zeki Hayran

Cornell University, USA

Dissipative and Dispersive Photonic Time Crystals: Limitations and Opportunities

ECR Finalist 6:

Kshiteej Deshmukh

University of Utah

Energy-Conserving Temporal Metasurfaces 


14:30-15:00 Invited 5:

Yonatan Sivan

Ben Gurion University, Israel

A comprehensive theory of the electronic, thermal and optical response of low electron density Drude materials to ultrafast illumination

Invited 10:

Zahirul Alam

University of Ottawa, Canada

Indium tin oxide as a time-varying material platform: new experimental results.


Invited 17:

Cheng-Wei Qiu

National University of Singapore, Singapore

Extreme, Spatiotemporal & Topological Thermotics

15:00-15:30 Invited 6:

Alexander Gaeta

Columbia University

Time-Lens for Quantum Information Processing

Dr. Artem Danilov


neaSCOPE for nanoscale IR Spectroscopy and Imaging: Technology and Applications


Mini break
15:30-16:00 Mini break Coffee break Invited 18:

Carsten Rockstuhl

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

A Semi-Analytical Theory for Four-Dimensional Photonic Materials

16:00-16:30 Invited 7:

Dimitrios Sounas

Wayne State University

Foster’s reactance theorem and the Bode-Fano criterion in time-modulated networks

Invited 11:

Maria Chiara Braidotti   

University of Glasgow, UK

Waves amplification from a rotating absorbing cylinder

Invited 19:

Bumki Min

KAIST, South Korea

Local density of states and discrete time crystalline behavior in photonic temporal crystals

16:30-17:00 Invited 8:

Ewold Verhagen

AMOLF, Netherlands

Optomechanical control of non-Hermitian dynamics and topology

Invited 12:

Jacob Khurgin

Johns Hopkins University, USA

Nonlinear Optics and Time Crystals

Coffee break 
17:00-17:30 Coffee break Keynote 5:

John Pendry

Imperial College London

Time varying gratings model Hawking radiation


17:30-18:00 Keynote 2:

Eugene Demler

ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Optical responses of photoexcited materials: from parametric amplification to photoinduced superconductivity

18:00-18:30 Closing remarks +

Winner announcement for

Nanophotonics ECR Prize