2018 ASRC Seed Program Winners

Five scientists from the City University of New York (CUNY) system have been selected as 2018 Advanced Science Research Center (ASRC) Seed Grant winners.

Learn more about the ASRC Seed Grant Program.

The Winners:

Timothy Ellmore
Associate Professor, Psychology
The City College of New York
Simultaneous EEG/fMRI Study of Working Memory Brain Connectivity
ASRC Co-Investigator: A. Duke Sheeren, Neuroscience

Alexander Khanikaev
Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering
The City College of New York
Novel approaches in nonreciprocal optics with magneto-photonic metamaterials
ASRC Co-Investigator: Andrea Alu, Photonics

Peter Marcotullio
Professor, Geography
Hunter College
Estimating the potential role of trees in reducing heat vulnerability in New York City metropolitan area
ASRC Co-Investigator: Andrew Reinmann, Environmental Science

Diana Bratu
Associate Professor, Biological Sciences
Hunter College
Characterization of P-bodies during Drosophila oogenesis
ASRC Co-Investigator: Shana Elbaum-Garfinkle, Structural Biology

Jing Fan
Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
The City College of New York
Establishment of an Experimental Platform for Characterizing Confined Fluids in Nanoporous Media
ASRC Co-Investigator: Xi Chen, Nanoscience