People

Headshot: Annette C. Gray

Annette C. Gray

Associate Dean for the Sciences
Executive Director

Email: agray@gc.cuny.edu
Phone: 212.413.3302

Initiative Directors

  • headshot: Andrea Alu

    Dr. Andrea Alù

    Director, Photonics Initiative, Advanced Science Research Center
    Einstein Professor of Physics, The Graduate Center, CUNY
    Professor of Electrical Engineering, The City College of New York

    Email: aalu@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3260
  • Headshot: Patrizia Casaccia

    Dr. Patrizia Casaccia

    Director, Neuroscience Initiative
    Einstein Professor of Biology, The Graduate Center, CUNY

    Email: pcasaccia@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3180
  • headshot: kevin gardner

    Dr. Kevin Gardner

    Director, ASRC Structural Biology Initiative
    Einstein Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry, The City College of New York

    The Gardner Lab studies the biophysical and biochemical basis of environmental sensing domains, exploring natural regulation, and developing methods of artificial control.

    Email: kgardner@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3220
  • headshot: rein ulijn

    Dr. Rein V. Ulijn

    Director, Nanoscience Initiative
    Director, ASRC Sensor CAT
    Einstein Professor of Chemistry, Hunter College

    Email: rulijn@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3380
  • headshot: charles vorosmarty

    Dr. Charles J. Vörösmarty

    Director, Environmental Sciences Initiative
    Director, Environmental Crossroads Group
    Professor of Civil Engineering, City College of New York

    Email: cvorosmarty@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3140
  • Dr. Andrea Alù

    Director, Photonics Initiative, Advanced Science Research Center
    Einstein Professor of Physics, The Graduate Center, CUNY
    Professor of Electrical Engineering, The City College of New York

    Email: aalu@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3260
  • Dr. Adam Braunschweig

    Associate Professor, Nanoscience Initiative
    Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Hunter College

    Email: abraunschweig@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3382
  • Dr. Patrizia Casaccia

    Director, Neuroscience Initiative
    Einstein Professor of Biology, The Graduate Center, CUNY

    Email: pcasaccia@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3180
  • Dr. Xi Chen

    Assistant Professor, Nanoscience Initiative
    Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering, The City College of New York

    Email: xchen@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3386
  • Dr. Amédée des Georges

    Assistant Professor of Chemistry, ASRC Structural Biology Initiative
    Assistant Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry, The City College of New York

    The des Georges Lab uses cryo-electron microscopy and novel image analysis techniques to explore the dynamics and allostery of large macromolecular complexes and better understand their function and regulation.

    Email: adesgeorges@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3232
  • Dr. Shana Elbaum-Garfinkle

    Assistant Professor of Biochemistry, ASRC Structural Biology Initiative
    Assistant Professor of Biochemistry, The Graduate Center, CUNY

    The Elbaum-Garfinkle Lab studies protein liquid phase separation and neurodegenerative aggregation using a combination of single molecule fluorescence, soft matter material science and C. elegans genetics.

    Email: selbaumgarfinkle@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3245
  • Dr. Kevin Gardner

    Director, ASRC Structural Biology Initiative
    Einstein Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry, The City College of New York

    The Gardner Lab studies the biophysical and biochemical basis of environmental sensing domains, exploring natural regulation, and developing methods of artificial control.

    Email: kgardner@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3220
  • Dr. Dianne Greenfield

    Associate Professor, Environmental Sciences Initiative
    Associate Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Queens College

    Email: dgreenfield@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3154
  • Dr. Peter M. Groffman

    Professor, Environmental Sciences Initiative
    Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Brooklyn College

    Email: pgroffman@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3143
  • Dr. Gabriele Grosso

    Assistant Professor, ASRC Photonics Initiative
    Assistant Professor of Physics, The Graduate Center, CUNY

    Email: ggrosso@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3372
  • Dr. Daniel Keedy

    Assistant Professor of Biochemistry, ASRC Structural Biology Initiative
    Assistant Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry, The City College of New York

    The Keedy Lab combines computation and experiments to reveal alternative protein conformations and explore how they underlie dynamic functions such as catalysis, ligand binding, and allosteric regulation.

    Email: dkeedy@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3246
  • Susana Mingote

    Associate Professor of Biology, The Graduate Center, CUNY

    Email: smingote@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3196
  • Dr. Andrew Reinmann

    Assistant Professor, Environmental Sciences Initiative
    Assistant Professor of Geography, Hunter College

    Email: areinmann@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3152
  • Dr. Matthew Y. Sfeir

    Associate Professor, Photonics Initiative, ASRC
    Associate Professor of Physics, The Graduate Center, CUNY

    Email: msfeir@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3270
  • Orie Shafer

    Professor of Biology, The Graduate Center, CUNY

    Email: oshafer@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3195
  • Dr. Rein V. Ulijn

    Director, Nanoscience Initiative
    Director, ASRC Sensor CAT
    Einstein Professor of Chemistry, Hunter College

    Email: rulijn@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3380
  • Dr. Charles J. Vörösmarty

    Director, Environmental Sciences Initiative
    Director, Environmental Crossroads Group
    Professor of Civil Engineering, City College of New York

    Email: cvorosmarty@gc.cuny.edu
    Phone: 212.413.3140

John Grzelewski

Budget Director

Email: John.Grzelewski@gc.cuny.edu
Phone: 212.413.3340


Adam Greenberg

Grants Director

Email: Adam.Greenberg@asrc.cuny.edu
Phone: 212.413.3330


Meghan Hughes

Director of Operations

Email: mhughes1@gc.cuny.edu
Phone: 212.413.3381


Shawn Rhea

Media Relations Manager

Email: srhea@gc.cuny.edu
Phone: 212.413.3319


Aldo Orlando

Environmental Health and Safety Officer

Email: aorlando@gc.cuny.edu
Phone: 212.413.3351


Camille Santistevan

Associate Director, Office of Communications & Marketing

Email: csantistevan@gc.cuny.edu
Phone: 212.413.3306


David Salmon

Facilities Director

Email: dsalmon@gc.cuny.edu
Phone: 212.413.3350